City of El Paso officials did not seek re-election in November

City officials eligible for re-election had not filed a new case Friday morning, just days before the deadline for submitting nominations – although one said she planned to file her nomination papers. candidacy.

Isabel Salcido, who kicked off her campaign at a restaurant in her neighborhood on Wednesday, told El Paso Matters she would file her paperwork by Friday afternoon.

City representatives. Cissy Lizarraga and Claudia Rodriguez could not be reached to find out if they were considering running for a second term.

The deadline to submit a candidacy for a place on the November 8 general election ballot is 5 p.m. Monday.

The other council seat on the ballot is District 1, where Representative Peter Svarzbein is not eligible to run because he is in his second term.

City Representative Cissy Lizarraga, who represents District 8, has not filed for re-election.

Lizarraga, who represents Downtown District 8 and parts of West El Paso, did not file any paperwork related to the upcoming election — including a campaign treasurer designation.

This filing is the necessary first step in running for public office as it allows candidates to begin fundraising.

Rodriguez, who represents part of the East Side and a slice of the Lower Valley in District 6, and Salcido, who represents District 5 in Far East El Paso, filed treasurer designations.

Rodriguez hosted a kickoff fundraiser on Monday, according to his campaign Facebook page.

The representative of the city, Claudia Rodriguez, who is a candidate for re-election, has not submitted a new application file. (Elida Perez/El Paso Matters)

Lizarraga has about $27,000 available for his campaign, according to July’s latest financial report. Salcido has $34,000 in hand, in addition to the $6,000 she raised between January and July, while Rodriguez has $400 and has raised $2,500.

Several other candidates ran for the four vacant seats.

Lizarraga would run for her second full term after serving an unexpired term vacated by former City Rep. Cortney Niland, who resigned in 2017.

Lizarraga legislative aide Chris Canales filed for a campaign treasurer designation for District 8 in July but has yet to file a ballot, according to city records. Canales did not return a call about whether he planned to run for his boss’ seat.

Richard Wright, who unsuccessfully sought the District 8 seat in 2018, submitted both a nomination for treasurer and the required application for a spot on the ballot. Cruz Morales and Bettina Olivares have filed campaign treasurer designations.

Former State Rep. Joe Pickett and Richard Genera have filed treasurer designations for District 5, where Salcido is serving his first term. Félix Munoz has submitted his candidacy and his appointment as campaign treasurer.

City Representative Isabel Salcido will file for re-election on Friday. (Elida Perez/El Paso Matters)

Former State Rep. Art Fierro, Cristian Botello, and incumbent Rodriguez, who is serving her first term, filed campaign treasurer nominations for the District 6 seat. Fierro and Botello also filed the request for vote. Benjamin Leyva submits his candidacy and appoints a campaign treasurer.

In District 1 on the West Side, Analisa Cordova Silverstein, Erin Tague, Brian Kennedy and Dave Jones filed campaign treasurer nominations and ballot requests. Deliris Montanez Berrios filed for a campaign treasurer designation.

Those elected in November will take office in January and serve a four-year term. The mayor’s term, along with the terms of the other four city representatives, ends in 2025.

The deadline to register to vote in the November 8 general election is October 11. Early voting begins October 24.

About Margaret L. Portillo

Check Also

New Report Highlights Growth in Kendall Whittier’s Tulsa District

TULSA, Okla. – Kendall Whittier Main Street published a new report this week highlighting the …